Chicken Tetrazzini

IMG_2365

This weekend, I had a happy accident when cooking.  Generally, I don’t just make up recipes.  I spend at least one evening a week looking up recipes online or finding new cookbooks and reading them through, trying to find some new and exciting recipes to try.  I’ll change one small thing here or there to make the meal even better, but I typically don’t stray too far from the original.

Last week, I was looking for casserole recipes to try something new and I found one for chicken tetrazzini.  I must admit that I didn’t know what it was, but anything with pasta in a creamy sauce and chicken works for me!  I looked over the ingredient list, added the items to my shopping list and got ready to make it.

There was only one small problem: I thought the recipe called for a can of mushroom soup, when it actually called for just a can of mushrooms.  When I went to make the recipe Saturday night and I realized the mistake, I decided to just make due, switch some things around and make it work.

The result was SO delicious.  I definitely would not make the recipe the way it was actually written.  I ended up frying up onions with a little white wine, frying chicken and deglazing the pan with more wine, all of which was added to the sauce.  I thickened some chicken broth and added in the mushroom soup with a splash of milk for the sauce.  The result is amazing, even if it isn’t technically a tetrazzini.  Definitely worth trying this week.

Chicken Tetrazzini serves 4-6

Note: This recipe is a little more salty than the food I usually make (and we found it so delicious), but you could reduce the salt by using reduced sodium (or sodium free) chicken broth and mushroom soup.

What you need:

  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, halved (or 4 thighs)
  • 1-2 onions, thinly sliced or diced
  • a few splashes white wine (optional)
  • 2Tbsp butter
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 can condensed mushroom soup
  • splash of milk
  • 1/2 – 3/4 pound of spaghetti, broken into smaller pieces
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan

 

What to do:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Lightly grease a 9×13 pan.
  2. Heat some oil in a frying pan over medium-high heat.  Season the chicken pieces with salt and pepper.  Sear the chicken for 6-8 minutes per side (or until crispy on the outside and cooked through).  Remove the chicken from the pan and deglaze the yummy bits with about 2 Tbsp of wine.  Cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces and set everything to the side.
  3. Meanwhile, heat some more oil in another frying pan over medium heat.  Add the onions and fry until soft and even brown (to whatever point you like your onions cooked).  At the end, add a few splashes of wine and boil off a bit of the liquid.  Set this aside.
  4. Set a pot of water on the stove to boil.  Cook the spaghetti according to the package directions.
  5. Meanwhile, make the sauce.  Melt the butter in a large pot over medium heat.  Add the flour and cook for one minute.  Slowly pour in the chicken broth and cook, while stirring most of the time, until it thickens and starts to boil.  Then pour in the condensed soup and stir until smooth.  Add some milk, until you like the taste / texture.
  6. Add the onions, chicken and wine from the chicken to the sauce.  Add the spaghetti to the sauce.  I started with adding only some of the noodles and gradually added more until I liked how it looked (depends on how saucy you like your food).
  7. Pour everything in the 9×13 pan and sprinkle with Parmesan.
  8. Bake for about 30 minutes, until the top is browned and the sauce is bubbly.
One thought on “Chicken Tetrazzini

Leave a Reply

