Fried Egg Sandwich

photo

This winter, I started running again, after injuring my tailbone in December, and I have managed to keep it up!  I’m not sure if it’s because I still can’t ride my bike, but I genuinely love running and have been doing a lot of it.  In the beginning, I would make sure to go 3 days a week, building up to 5km runs.  Now that it’s summer and I have time, I have been able to go at least 5 mornings a week, bumping up my longer runs to 10km and more.  I have even signed up to run a half-marathon this fall!

With all this early morning exercise, I realized I needed to step up my breakfasts.  While I love cereal, toast and waffles, they just don’t cut it after running for an hour or more.  So I’ve been finding a lot of ways to eat eggs that don’t take too much time but are still interesting and delicious.

I love this sandwich.  I have posted it more than once on Instagram and every time I eat it, I exclaim about how good it is.  The part that takes the longest is cooking the bacon, but if you chop it up before frying it, I find it takes 5-10 minutes on medium-high heat, and then the rest of the sandwich comes together rather quickly.  It’s basically a wilted spinach salad on a bun, with a fried egg and blue cheese.  The original recipe can be found here at SmittenKitchen.com.  I’ve modified it a little bit to make it for 1 serving because no one in my family wants to have that much spinach at breakfast.  I also usually fry up an extra egg to eat on the side – one egg isn’t enough for a post-run meal.  And although I usually make it for breakfast, it’s also great for lunch or even dinner!

Fried Egg Sandwich

Makes 1 sandwich

What you need:
a couple of handfuls of baby spinach leaves
1 slice bacon
1 Tablespoon diced red onion or shallot
2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons crumbled blue cheese (or cheddar)
1 large egg
1 bun or 2 slices of bread

What to do:
Place the baby spinach in a bowl.  It may seem like way to much to fit in a sandwich, but it will, I promise.  You can always eat the extra if it doesn’t.

Heat a small frying pan on medium-high heat.  Chop the bacon into matchsticks (I use scissors to do this part).  Cook the bacon until it is crispy and has rendered its fat.  Remove the bacon carefully with a fork onto a paper towel and leave the fat in the frying pan.

Add the red onion to the pan and cook for a minute or two.  Then add the red wine vinegar and let it sputter for about 30 seconds.  Remove from heat and whisk in the mustard.  Pour this over the spinach and toss to coat.  The spinach will wilt slightly.

Add some butter or oil into the frying pan and fry up the egg the way you like it.  While it’s frying, toast your bun or bread and then butter the bread.

To assemble the sandwich, place half the spinach on the bottom bun.  Put on half of the crumbled bacon and cheese, then the egg, more bacon and cheese and the rest of the spinach.  Top with the bun top.

Leave a Reply

