Almond Butter Apple Sandwich

photo 4

Our air conditioner has broken.  This may not seem like the end of the world for some, but it’s been quite the problem for us.  We like to keep the house at 22C or lower when we’re home.  And since I’m off for the summer, we’re home all the time.

The biggest problem is that I like to cook.  And cooking unfortunately requires heat (unless you are into the raw food movement, which I am definitely not!).  I know that most people just change up what they make in the summer, preferring to eat salads or use the barbecue to avoid heating up the house.  But I like to eat what I want to eat when I want it.  It may sound selfish (and really not energy efficient) but that’s just how I am.  It means that I will be outside barbecuing at -30C and inside baking a casserole at soaring temperatures.  However, to ensure that my family can sleep at night without having the house at overly high temperatures, I decided to try making meals with the weather in mind.  Other than the fish sticks and cookies we had last night, I think I’ve done pretty well, and have even managed to find a few new recipes.

One thing I’ve been making more of is sandwiches.  I was never really into sandwiches as a kid (probably because I made Cheez Whiz sandwiches every day for lunch for a year) but I have started really getting into them.  There’s a whole smorgasbord of fillings you can use, different types of bread to place the fillings on and even different temperatures (grilled, toasted, room temperature) you can serve them at.  So when I saw Great Sandwiches for Runners on RunnersWorld, I decided I should try some out.

I didn’t have any pears, so I’ve used apple instead.  And if you want to add extra dried apricots (because you have been eating them by the handful out of the bag), they only add more flavour.  You can even make the almond butter spread, use half of it and save the other half for the next day.  The spread gets a little stiff, but it’s still manageable.  The original suggests using whole grain bread, which is a good idea, but it also tastes amazing on toasted white bread.  Use the recipe below as a starter and then change it up to fit what you like best!

photo 1photo 2photo 3

Almond Butter Apple Sandwich (adapted, barely, from Runners World Magazine)

Makes 2 sandwiches

What you need:
3 tablespoons almond butter
1 teaspoon honey
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
4 slices of bread (toasted or not)
1/2 – 1 whole apple, cored and thinly sliced
2 tablespoons chopped dried apricots
2 tablespoons crumbled goat cheese

What to do:
In a small bowl, whisk together the almond butter, honey, cinnamon and vanilla (I did it with a fork).  Spread the mixture on two of the slices of bread.  Top bread with the sliced apple, dried apricots and goat cheese.  Put the last slices of bread on top and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

