Sorbet

photo 1(6)For Christmas this year, I had a long list of cookbooks on my wish list.  And my sister made sure that at least one of my wishes would come true.  She got me The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz.  This cookbook is an ice cream fanatic’s dream.  It is filled with all sorts of ice creams, sorbets, granitas and mix-ins.  We were in between houses right after Christmas, so I couldn’t try out any of the recipes.  But now that the warm weather is looking like it might be here, I have taken out the book and tried many recipes.

The thing I love about a sorbet is that it’s just fruit, sugar and water.  No milk or cream necessary (which is great for my lactose-intolerant friends).  And because you don’t need to cook a custard or warm anything, it takes a lot less time to make.  The best part is that I let my daughter have LOTS of it because it doesn’t have all the fat of ice cream.  If none of those reasons convince you to try to make some sorbet, I’m not sure what will.

Oh, and if you don’t have an ice cream maker (this is the one I have), you can still make ice cream and sorbets, as long as you have a bit of time on your hands.  Once you have the mixture ready, stick it in a container in the freezer.  Every 20-30 minutes, take it out and stir the more frozen outer edges into the centre.  Once it’s too hard to stir, you’re done!

photo 2(6)

Bananaberry Sorbet

What you need:
1 medium ripe banana
2 cups berries (blueberries or blackberries), fresh or frozen
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup sugar
1 Tbsp lemon or lime juice

What to do:
Cut the banana into chunks and puree in the blender with the berries, water, sugar and lemon or lime juice until smooth.  Chill the mixture thoroughly and then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

photo 3(4)

Pineapple Sorbet

What you need:
1/2 pineapple, peeled, cored and cut into chunks
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup water

What to do:
Puree the pineapple, sugar and water in a blender until smooth. Chill the mixture thoroughly and then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

One thought on “Sorbet

Leave a Reply

