Teriyaki Chicken

chicken teriyaki

I seem to pick the worst possible days to go out an barbecue.  Last week, I thought I would head out, despite the fact that it was approaching 0C (again!) and it started to rain while I was cooking the burgers.  I left the barbecue cover on the patch of snow that just would not melt and then it started to snow.  When I tried to retrieve the cover a few hours later, it had frozen to the ice pile and I had to wait a few days before it could be pulled off again, leaving my barbecue out in the elements.

Then, last night, I had planned to barbecue again.  I had marinated some chicken a day earlier and didn’t want to put off cooking it.  So despite the crazy rain, I went out and started the barbecue.  I managed to have the chicken cook for maybe 5 minutes before the propane ran out. And being lazy and unwilling to head out in the rain again, I had to fry the chicken instead.

Thankfully, this recipe for teriyaki chicken is amazing, whether baked, fried or barbecued (although, on the barbecue is definitely the best).  The great thing about marinating chicken breasts is that you can do it days or even weeks ahead.  Buy a value pack of chicken, portion it out for a few meals, and freeze it in the marinade.  It’ll keep for about 4 months in the freezer.  You can also marinate it for a short period of time, but this one definitely gets better with age.

We had the chicken with some rice and vegetables, but the options are endless.  I plan to use the leftovers to make chicken salad sandwiches and to add some to a green salad later this week.

teriyaki chicken

Teriyaki Chicken (from Starting Out)

What you need:
4-5 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 Tbsp honey or brown sugar
1 Tbsp sherry, orange juice or water
1 Tbsp grated fresh ginger
3 green onions, chopped
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 teaspoon sesame oil

What to do:
Combine all the ingredients (except the chicken) in a bowl.  Pour the sauce over the chicken in a sealed container or large ziplock bag.  Refrigerate overnight or freeze as long as you would like.

To grill the chicken, brush the grill with a little oil and then preheat the grill.  Remove the chicken from the marinade and grill for 3-4 minutes per side, or until it is cooked through – it should no longer be pink on the inside.

To sauté the chicken, heat some oil in a large, heavy skillet set over medium high heat.  Toss the chicken and the marinade into the skillet and cook for 3-4 minutes per side, or until it is cooked through.  The marinade cooks up nicely to make a thick sauce.

 

One thought on “Teriyaki Chicken

  1. I hope the people that ate the teriyaki enjoyed it because you went through so much trouble to make it. I like the idea of freezing with the marinade. What a great idea for lazy human beings like me. I love the addition of ginger, and sherry and sesame…thats a great combination of flavours. Thanks for sharing and hope you have great weather like here! best wishes!

Leave a Reply

