Spinach Salad

photo

I’ve taken up running again.  If you’re thinking, “I’m pretty sure you said that a couple of months ago” you would be right.  In October, I started running, working up to run a 5K.  In early December, I went for a run at an ungodly hour before work, achieved the 5k, slipped on some ice and cracked my tailbone.  Talk about a serious downer after accomplishing my goals!  So I wasn’t able to run for a couple of months and generally sat around, eating lots of treats!

In February, I again decided I should get back into it, even though my tailbone has still not finished healing.  And I have once again achieved a 5km run!  It’s pretty exciting.  I’ve done it a few times now and have stayed far away from ice (since there is still a ton of it in Ottawa right now).

With my running, I’m trying to generally be healthy again, so I’ve started trying new salads.  I picked up a book from the library called ten dollar Dinners by Melissa d’Arabian.  She has quite a few delicious salads that I’ve been making for lunches or even afternoon snacks.

This spinach salad could be a side with your dinner, a main course (especially if you put in some chopped chicken) or a snack for serious spinach lovers.  I’m not a fan of red onion, so I don’t include it.  And I don’t actually measure everything out to make one big salad.  I keep a small container of the dressing on hand, then throw the spinach and whatever toppings I want to include into a bowl, top with the dressing, and eat.  If you’re not a blue cheese lover, I’m sure a sharp cheddar would be super delicious here too.

Spinach Salad

Serves 4 as a side

What you need:
1/3 cup pecan halves
3 cups baby spinach
1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced into rounds (optional)
1 apple or pear, cored and diced
1/4 cup blue cheese, crumbled
1 Tbsp white wine vinegar
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 Tbsp olive oil

What to do:
Heat a dry frying pan over medium heat. Add the pecans and toast them by stirring from time to time. Set aside to cool.

Make the dressing by mixing the vinegar, pepper and olive oil in a bowl (or shaken in a small container)

Place the spinach in the bottom of a large salad bowl. Add the onion, apple and cheese. Pour the dressing on top and toss to coat. Sprinkle with cooled pecans and enjoy!

One thought on “Spinach Salad

  1. Good job on the 5 km.
    I love spinach and eat it all the time.
    Cooked beets are also nice in a spinach salad. I add a little goat’s cheese too.

Leave a Reply

