Feta and Green Onion Frittata

photo(5)

I recently read Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist.  It’s a personal memoir with recipes at the end of each chapter.  Although she writes in a very artsy way (using adjectives and verbs to describe a party in the kitchen I would have never thought of), I really enjoyed the book and a few of the recipes. (one of which I have posted here).

In the book, she talks about going to a cooking class for a week and one of the techniques she was taught was that as a cook, the first time you make a recipe, you follow it exactly.  The second time, you make your own adjustments.  And the third time, you don’t look at the recipe and just make it.  As I read that, I thought, “There’s no way! I have to see the recipes or I just won’t know what I’m doing!”  But upon further reflection, I realized that I actually can do it and often end up doing it.

Right now, almost all of my cookbooks are packed because we thought we might be moving sometime soon, and I’ve had to rely on my memory to recreate some of the recipes I love.  And I’ve discovered I can do it!  I will admit that with this recipe, I did ask my mom to look up in her cookbook what temperature to set the oven.  But the rest I did on my own.  I hope you can gain some confidence like I recently have while cooking too!

This recipe is from the Smitten Kitchen cookbook, which is also a great read.  I’m sure I’ve made a few adjustments, although since I don’t have the recipe here, I can’t tell you what those are!

photo(8)

Feta and Green Onion Frittata

The way I make this recipe is for 2 of us, and could easily serve 3.  If you’re feeding more people, just double it and add some baking time at the end.  A large cast-iron skillet would work really well for about 6 people.  The beauty of this recipe is that you can just add more of what you want – more potatoes or cheese or bacon – and it’ll turn out just fine!

What you need:
    2 Yukon gold potatoes
    olive oil
    3 slices of bacon, chopped
    a green onion, chopped
    a handful of feta cheese, crumbled
    3 eggs
    a splash of milk or cream

What to do:photo(6)
Preheat the oven to 400F.  Thinly slice the potatoes (peeled or not) and place on a baking sheet that has been generously drizzled with oil.  Sprinkle salt and pepper on top.  Bake for about 20 minutes, flipping halfway through. This part can be done ahead.  Just store the potatoes in the fridge until you’re ready to use them.

In an oven-proof skillet, fry up the bacon.  Use a fork or slotted spoon to take the bacon from the pan while leaving the fat.  Use your best judgement to decide whether to leave all the fat in the pan or not (I usually use about half) and swirl what’s left slowly around the sides so the whole pan is coated.

Layer the potatoes in the bottom of the pan. Then sprinkle on the bacon, green pepper and photo(7)feta cheese.  In a small bowl, beat the eggs and add some salt, pepper and a splash of cream.  Pour the eggs on top of everything.

Cover the pan with tin foil and bake for about 10 minutes.  Remove the foil and bake for another 10 minutes.  Let cool a few minutes before digging in.

 

Leave a Reply

