Mocha Fudge Pudding Cake

puddingcakeicecream

When I think about why I like to cook so much, one of the reasons would definitely have to be my mom.  I spent a lot of time in the kitchen growing up, talking her ear off while she cooked dinner every night.  I loved how she would try new recipes and then either rave about how amazing they were or throw them out because they were too frustrating.  And I loved how much she was fascinated with the science and chemistry of it all.

I must say, I was not a fan of science as a kid.  It just didn’t appeal to me.  But when I learned (from my mom) that cooking was science, I suddenly got excited.  And this recipe is one that would always cause my mom to marvel (and me to get interested in Science).

You basically make cake batter, put it in the bottom of the pan and then put the pudding ingredients on top.  But after it’s baked, the pudding is on the bottom and the cake is on the top.  Crazy chemistry!

Ok, maybe that won’t excite you to make it and have some tonight, but I assure you it’s worth it.  It’s very rich and chocolatey and goes well with vanilla ice cream (especially if you, like me, are obsessed with making ice cream in your new ice cream maker). And it travels to parties well.  I have brought the dry ingredients and sugar / cocoa mixture to a dinner party to make it there.  People usually have some milk and can easily make some coffee to throw it together.  And then you get to have freshly made cake after dinner.

Note: it also keeps well in the fridge once made.  Just reheat individual portions for about 20 seconds in the microwave and enjoy!

Mocha Fudge Pudding Cake (adapted, barely, from the Hershey website)

serves 8 (apparently – usually 6 in my house)

What you need:
    3/4 cup sugar
    1 cup flour
    2 teaspoons baking powder
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    1/2 cup plus 1 Tbsp butter, melted
    1/2 cup milk
    1 teaspoon vanilla
    1/2 cup sugar
    1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
    1/4 cup cocoa
    1 cup hot strong coffee

What to do:
Preheat the oven to 350F.

In a medium bowl, combine the 3/4 cup of sugar, flour, 3 Tbsp cocoa, baking powder and salt.  Pour in the melted butter, milk and vanilla and beat (with an electric mixer if you want) until smooth.  Spread in an 8- or 9-inch square pan.

In a small bowl, combine the 1/2 cup of sugar, brown sugar and 1/4 cup cocoa.  Sprinkle evenly over the cake batter in the pan.

Pour the coffee over top.  Resist the temptation to stir it and just leave it flowing in rivers on the top.

Bake the cake for 40 minutes or until the centre is almost set.  Serve warm with ice cream.

puddingcakebatterpuddingcakesugarpuddingcakecoffeefinishedpuddingcake

8 thoughts on “Mocha Fudge Pudding Cake

  1. Wow! Glad you were influenced in such a positive way.
    I can certainly vouch for the recipe. It is indeed worth the effort. It is such a simple one for such a delicious dessert. My favourite kind of recipe.

  2. I enjoyed reading your story. Thanks for sharing. Don’t we all rave when it goes right and throw when it doesn’t? I am usually so upset when a recipe doesn’t work. I then spend days pondering over why it didn’t work and how i can improve on it. I try, and try again, until it works. The trial might take a period of months, but I always revisit recipes that didn’t meet my expectations. I love this pudding cake because it’s so easy to mix. I hope it tastes as good as you promise. I would really love to try it, on serious note. I’ve bookmarked it in my urgent folder. I’ll be gone over the weekend but I shall ask a few questions next week before I try it. Thanks for sharing one of your mums, ‘raves’ Have a wonderful weekend!

    • I get so upset too when something doesn’t work out, especially if we are going to have guests (or my in-laws, which has happened). I don’t toss the recipes though, the way my mom does! Have a super weekend!

Leave a Reply

