Rice Krispie Squares and Uganda

photo(19)

It has been a while since I’ve posted anything and I promise I have a good reason.  I’ve been in Uganda!  Yes, the country in east Africa.  My husband’s family lives there, so the trip was partly a vacation to visit them and partly a humanitarian trip.  We spent the first week hosting a leadership training conference and the second week working with Cherish, an organization that rescues kids with HIV/AIDS and gives them a family, education and a future.  I even got to lead a workshop for teachers on how to teach Math creatively.

It was all very exciting and I had every intention of taking pictures of the food I ate so that I could blog about it.  However, one problem was that most of the time we ate when it was rather dark out, and I forgot to bring any picture-taking device.  The other problem was that I didn’t end up eating a lot of the “traditional” food, because I kept getting sick! Usually I LOVE groundnut sauce (kinda like peanut sauce) and chapati (a flatbread like naan), but I just couldn’t get it down this time.  So frustrating!

So, instead, while visiting my in-laws, I cooked very Canadian food, with what I could find there.  Our friends who stayed with us said they’ve never eaten so much cheese in one week!  We had MANY grilled cheese sandwiches, omelets, macaroni and cheese, spaghetti and ratatouille. And now my husband has even sworn off eggs.

photo(18)

The best treat, however, was the rice krispie squares.  Now, I did bring my own marshmallows, because I didn’t think you could get them there.  But I have since been informed you can find them in Uganda (they just might be pink).  If you live in North America, I definitely suggest making them with 1/2cup browned butter and a pinch of salt because they are AMAZING!  However, the butter in Uganda is a little strong, so if you live there, use 1/4 cup margarine or follow the directions below for peanut butter rice krispie squares.  We made them both ways (since I had the foresight to bring two bags of marshmallows) and the peanut butter ones were definitely consumed a lot faster.

Peanut Butter Rice Krispie Squares

I realize you can get this recipe on any box of Rice Krispies in North America, but shockingly, you can’t in other parts of the world!

What you need:
    1/4 cup peanut butter
    2 Tbsp margarine or Blue Bandphoto(16)
    1 bag (250g) of marshmallows
    5 cups rice krispie cereal

What to do:
Butter an 8-inch square pan.

In a large saucepan over low heat, melt the peanut butter and margarine (or if you’re just using butter, brown the butter).  Add the marshmallows and stir until they melt.  Remove from heat.  Add the cereal, one cup at a time, until combined.

Scoop the cereal mixture into the prepared pan and smooth with a rubber spatula or your hands that have been covered with grease (the things you do when you are not in your own kitchen!).  When you’re ready to enjoy, cut into squares and eat!

8 thoughts on “Rice Krispie Squares and Uganda

  1. How exciting that you went to Uganda for some two weeks or so. I have been to Kampala and Entebbe and eaten Matoke with peanut sauce. I love that peanut sauce. Exciting to hear you had a leadership course, a workshop with cherish and you even got to lead a math workshop on how to teach creatively, Maths can be very interesting when a teacher is creative and very boring when a teacher jus focuses on theory. Thanks for sharing this recipe and hope you enjoy the rest of your week!

    • That’s so great that you’ve been to Uganda too. When were you there? I don’t normally eat the matoke when I’m there, because my husband isn’t a huge fan, but everyone I was with LOVED it. Some of them have even tried making something similar back home.

      • I have been there on several occasions, mainly for meetings and conferences. Every time I go there I have to eat matoke and the peanut sauce. It’s one of my favourite dishes. I have not seen the matoke bananas here though and they usually use the small red peanuts. I have travelled a lot..to various places and sampled different kinds of foods.Thanks have a great weekend, a fabulous week and thanks so much for the many likes.

      • You can actually get ground nut powder in Uganda that you can bring back and make it here (which is what we do). So we have that peanut sauce from time to time with chapati, but only when my husband feels like cooking 🙂

  2. Sounds yummy!! Made me smile as I just made this treat when the girls got back using brown rice (gluten-free) Rice Krispies. I also threw in tiny marshmallow confection that I pick up at Walmart in the US, something I see in Starbucks version. I’m going to try the browned butter next time, and Chris would LOVE the peanut version!
    – MaryPat

    • That’s great that you just made it too! I haven’t tried throwing in extra marshmallows at the end, but the Starbucks ones look great, so I think I’ll have to try it sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

