Banana Spinach Muffins

spinachbanana

Banana spinach? Seriously? If that’s what you’re thinking, be reassured that I was thinking the exact same thing.  This month for the Daring Baker’s challenge, we had the choice to do whatever previous recipe we wanted.  And since I’ve skipped out for a couple of months, I thought this would be a great time to start back up.  I searched the archives for something that looked relatively easy to make, since I’m still recovering from my fractured arm.  And when I saw this one, I was REALLY intrigued.

These muffins are relatively easy to make, although, you will need a food processor and at least 2 bowls (I’m a one-bowl-for-muffins kind of girl).

I will say, I prefer my regular banana muffin recipe and I think you could just add some finely chopped spinach to any banana muffin recipe you like.  My daughter did not like the muffins and my husband did not want to try them, but I thought they were okay. Definitely worth trying if you’re up for an adventure!

the muffins

Banana Spinach Muffins

makes 6 large muffins or 12 mini muffins

What you need:
    1 cup whole wheat flour
    1 teaspoon baking powder
    pinch of baking soda
    pinch of salt
    1 large egg
    1/4 cup sugar
    2 Tbsp canola oil
    1 teaspoon vanilla
    1 ripe banana, mashed
    1/4 cup plain yogurt or sour cream
    1 cup packed spinach

What to do:
Preheat the oven to 350F and prepare your muffin tins with papers or spray the tin with cooking spray.

In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In another bowl, whisk the egg and sugar together vigorously, then add the oil, vanilla, banana and yogurt.  Mix well.

Throw the spinach in a blender or food processor to chop it up into small pieces.  Stir the spinach into the egg mixture.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix just until combined.  Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tin and bake for 20 minutes, or until golden on top and a cake tester comes out clean.

Cool on a wire rack and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Banana Spinach Muffins

  1. Exactly. I said bananas and what? spinach???? You should never tell them what you put inside. I never say what I added. It works better, because people can psychologically refuse to eat something. I think I should try with my normal banana recipe or better still some of the savoury muffin recipes I have. I shall give you a feedback. Thanks for sharing. How is your arm? Is it due to heal soon? Enjoy your weekend!

    • My arm is so much better now! Thanks for asking :). I think I’ll try the spinach in my regular muffins next time and see how my daughter does. Let me know if you try it how it goes!

Leave a Reply

