Strawberry Ice Cream

photo(16)

I am a bit of an ice cream snob.  I never used to be.  I used to be able to get Dairy Queen and be totally happy with it.  Or blocks of Chapman’s ice cream.  Or the President’s Choice peppermint chocolate crackle.  But then I tried Marble Slab, and I was ruined.

It all started out so innocently.  I was in Calgary, visiting friends, and we went to a mall.  I was hot and in need of a treat, so I stopped at Marble Slab.  I thought it seemed a little pricey, but I was willing to give it a try.  It was AMAZING!  As we wandered through the mall, we found another Marble Slab and immediately ordered more!  And then proceeded to find the nearest one to our friend’s house so that we could get some every single evening.  We were dismayed that it hadn’t found its way to Ottawa at that time.

Now that I had discovered amazing ice cream, I just couldn’t go back!  Store-bought buckets didn’t hold the same appeal for me anymore.  Dairy Queen’s mix-ins just didn’t cut it.  I needed the hand made ice cream, made with real ingredients.

And so, I asked for an ice cream maker for Christmas last year.  And our lives have never been the same!

This ice cream is like strawberry heaven.  I found the original recipe here.  The only real change I made was to warm up the milk before mixing it in with the eggs, because the thought of totally raw eggs makes me feel a little ill.  But if your eggs are fresh, no need to do it!  Also, I realize we are now at the end of the strawberry season, but this recipe works just fine with strawberries shipped from a far off country.

Strawberry Ice Cream

What you need
For the strawberries:
    2 1/2 cups sliced fresh strawberries, divided
    1/3 cup sugar
    1 teaspoon lemon juice

For the ice cream base:
    2 eggs  
    3/4 cup sugar  
    2 cups heavy whipping cream  
    1 cup whole milk

Rinse and thoroughly dry the strawberries before slicing them.  I set mine out on paper towels to make SURE they were dry, because otherwise, it adds water to the ice cream.  Once dry, slice the strawberries.

In a bowl, combine 2 cups of sliced strawberries, 1/3 cup of sugar and the lemon juice.  Set this in the fridge for at least an hour, covered.  I accidentally left it in overnight, and it was still fine.

Once the strawberries are ready, whisk the eggs for 1-2 minutes in another bowl until they become fluffy and light.  Slowly whisk in the sugar.

Warm your milk in the microwave or on the stove.  Then whisk it into the eggs, pouring VERY slowly to warm up the eggs.  If you want to cook the “custard” at this point, return the milk / egg mixture to the stove over medium heat and stir constantly until it becomes quite warm (but not boiling).  If you don’t want to cook it (which I did not), add the whipping cream.

Pour the bowl of strawberries and now juice into the blender and puree them.  Mix the strawberries into the cream and set the whole thing in the fridge to chill.

Churn the ice cream according to manufacturer’s instructions.  While the ice cream is churning, use a fork to mash up the extra 1/2 cup of strawberries.  Drain off ALL the liquid and add these to the ice cream right at the end.  You can eat some right away or let it harden a bit in the fridge overnight.

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Ice Cream Cake | cookingwithflourchild

Leave a Reply

