Hamburger Casserole

hamburgercasseroleserving

I don’t know about you, but the thought of lasagne is just scary.  I mean, it tastes AMAZING if you get it at the right place (in my case, at my mom’s house).  But it require SO many steps and so much layering.  I love spending time cooking, but I that just seems like too much work for me.  And yet, I sometimes crave the crispy cheese top, mixture of cottage cheese and sauce and the perfectly cooked noodles.  So when I found this recipe, I decided it was heaven sent!

It has many of the same layers as a lasagne, but just once for each.  You layer bowtie or egg noodles in the bottom of the pan, top with a beefy tomato sauce, then spread on sour cream and cottage cheese.  And then you sprinkle on the mozzarella. You can make it, start-to-finish in just over an hour (depending on how good you are at multi-tasking) and it’s impressive for guests.  You can also make it ahead, stick it in the fridge or freezer, and then just bake it so the smell fills the house as your guests arrive.

hamburgercasserole

Hamburger Casserole (serves at least 6)

What you need:
    2 cups bowtie noodles or other pasta
    1 lb ground beef
    1 small onion, diced
    1 clove garlic, minced
    1 jar of tomato sauce
    1 cup sour cream
    1 cup cottage cheese
    1/2cup or more shredded mozzarella cheese

What to do:
Preheat the oven to 350F.

Put a pot of water on to boil.  Cook the noodles to al dente according to the package directions.

In a large skillet, fry the ground beef with the onion and garlic until the meat is brown and the veggies are tender.  Drain off the extra fat.  Pour in the tomato sauce until it looks about right – usually around 2 cups.  Let the sauce simmer for about 10-15 minutes.

Once the noodles are done, put them in the bottom of a large baking dish.  Pour the beef mixture on top.  Spread the sour cream and then the cottage cheese on top.  Sprinkle on the mozzarella.

Bake the casserole uncovered for 30 minutes, or until the cheese has browned and the sauce is bubbly.  Let the casserole sit for a few minutes before digging in.

7 thoughts on “Hamburger Casserole

  1. Just cooked it and ate some. Delicious I thought! Thanks for the tips. I too hate cooking lasagna but this tasted just like it (minus the pepperoni my mom puts in). Can’t find good pepperoni here in Athens, so I went without this time.

  2. You know what? I also love easy life, easy recipes, less work so I tend to be drawn towards very simple recipes. This recipe is very simple, straightforward and looks delicious too. Thanks so much for sharing, one of these days, I shall give it a go!!

  3. Pingback: Creamy Chicken Stuffed Shells | cookingwithflourchild

Leave a Reply

