Banana Muffins

banana muffinsThese muffins hold a special place in my heart.  Any time I wanted quick baked goods in university, I would pull out this recipe.  If I was supposed to bring something for brunch, I would bake these.  They’re just so easy!  But the real reason I love them now is that they helped me snag my husband.

We were hanging out with a group of people one evening and I really wanted to hang out longer with this cute guy.  So I asked him, “Want to come watch me make muffins?”  Apparently, that was the trick!  7 1/2 years later we are going strong, and I still make the muffins from time to time to reminisce.

Spouse-snagging properties aside, these muffins are SO worth making.  There are only 5 ingredients (unless you add chocolate chips), all of which you probably have lying around.  In fact, you probably have some overly ripe bananas lying around that you just need to use up.  They come together so fast your oven probably won’t even be finish pre-heating by the time you’re ready to stick them in.  They only use one bowl.  They can be dairy-free (if you use mayo).  And they’re quite adaptable – you can use full fat or low fat mayonnaise, sour cream or yogurt.  Oh, and kids LOVE them.

I definitely recommend full fat mayo, but if you’re trying to cut back the fat, the other options taste pretty great too.  As for add-ins, I usually put in about 3/4 cup of chocolate chips, but sometimes I put in walnuts or pecans as well.  You can also put in blueberries or other berries instead.  If you want to make them fancy, put cream cheese icing on top (which is what we did instead of a wedding cake for our wedding!)  This recipe can be played with!

Banana Muffins

makes 12 regular muffins or more than 24 mini muffins

What you need:
    1 cup mashed bananas (about 2 bananas)
    2 cups flour (or half whole wheat, half white flour)
    3/4 cup sugar
    1 cup mayonnaise
    1 teaspoon baking powder
    chocolate chips or other add-ins

What to do:
Pre-heat your oven to 400F.  Line a muffin tin with paper cups or grease the muffin tin.

Mash your bananas in a large bowl.  Add the flour, sugar, mayonnaise, baking powder and anything else you are putting in.  Mix until just combined.

Spoon the batter into the muffin tin and bake for 15-10 minutes, until the muffins are golden brown on top and seem cooked through.  Cool them out of the pan on a cooling rack until you want to dig in!

One thought on “Banana Muffins

  1. Pingback: Banana Spinach Muffins | cookingwithflourchild

Leave a Reply

