Dimply Cherry Cake

dimply cherry cake

I cannot decide how I feel about this cake.  I originally made it as a dimply plum cake, which I loved warm out of the pan and really disliked the next day, cooled (perhaps because the plum halves were so large).  But I really loved the taste of the cake!  My husband suggested just making the cake, but I like to add fruit to desserts, to make them healthier, so I thought I would just try the recipe again.  This time, due to a rather large bag of cherries in the fridge, I decided to try the recipe with cherries.

I am warning you: if you make it with cherries, halving and pitting the cherries is TIME CONSUMING!  They are so small and take forever to neatly slice each one and then coax out the pit.  A normal person may just have stopped at this point, but I figured I had gone too far and should just finish.  So after leaving the cherries for a couple of hours, I proceeded to make the cake.  When I took it out of the oven, it smelled great.  So I waited to take it out of the pan and then cut myself a piece.  I did not especially enjoy the warm pieces from the oven.  I was prepared to toss the cake at this point, but thought it might improve with age.

And so, I brought the rest of it to work with me.  I have no idea if anyone liked it, because I didn’t actually ask, but it was half gone by lunch and when I remembered to pick up the plate the next morning, it was empty.  So either it was delicious and people ate it, or it wasn’t and someone tossed it.  Either way, I count it as a partial success!

Will I make this again?  Probably.  I will likely try again to figure out if I like it or not.  Although, I think I’d like to try it as an apple upside-down cake.  But we shall see.

Dimply Cherry Cake (adapted from the dimply plum cake at smittenkitchen.com)

What you need:
    1 1/2 cups flour
    2 teaspoons baking powder
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    5 Tbsp unsalted butter, at room temperature
    3/4 cup packed brown sugar
    2 large eggs
    1/3 cup canola oil
    grated zest of 1 orange
    1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
    21 cherries, halved and pitted

What to do:
Preheat the oven to 350F.  Butter and flour an 8-inch square baking dish.

In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.

In a large bowl, beat the butter with a mixer until it is soft and creamy (3 minutes).  Add the sugar and beat for another 3 minutes.  Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each.  Then beat in the oil, zest and vanilla.  Stir in the flour mixture, just until combined.

Spread the batter in the prepared baking pan.  Smooth the top.  Arrange the cherries, cut side up in the batter, pressing them in a little.

Bake for 30-40 minutes until a cake tester inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Cool in the pan for about 15 minutes to allow the cherry juices to soak into the cake.  Then run a knife around the sides of the pan and unmold the cake.  Invert it and cool it right side up.

3 thoughts on “Dimply Cherry Cake

  1. Thanks for the report card writing break. Always appreciated.
    In my humble opinion, I believe any food that starts with “dimply” should be avoided….I mean come on! : )
    Keep’em coming E.

  2. I love the look of the dimply cherry cake, I can just visualize how it tastes. I think it tastes very nice. And I like that you’ve added some orange zest to it. Orange or lemon always make a big difference to the taste of a cake. Thanks for sharing and thanks for stopping by. I really appreciate.

Leave a Reply

