Basic Curry

plate of curry

Ok, I realized this week that I have been quite lazy with cooking and baking.  I mean, I love to do it!  But sometimes a girl just has to take a break.  I didn’t realize how bad it was until on Friday there weren’t any interesting leftovers, so I brought a can of tuna, a bag of microwave popcorn and an orange to work for lunch.  After a coworker offered me slightly moldy strawberries (which were surprisingly delicious, once you cut off the mold) and after the 4th person commented on “That’s what YOU’RE having for lunch?”, I decided I better step it back up a notch again.  Apparently I have quite the reputation for great cooking (which I really have no problem with).  So hopefully this week will be better!

This curry is so versatile.  You can use almost any leftover meat you have on hand or cook up a little bit just for this meal.  You can add whatever vegetables you like and it’s so colourful and beautiful.  And I find it’s toddler friendly, as long as you use a mild curry paste.  I definitely suggest making it this week!

curry pan

Basic Curry from Starting Out

What you need:
    olive oil or canola oil for the pan
    2 onions, peeled and thinly sliced or chopped
    4 cloves garlic, minced
    2 Tbsp grated fresh ginger
    1 red, orange or yellow bell pepper, seeded and chopped
    1-2 cups of other vegetables (zucchini, beans, cauliflower, eggplant, etc) cut into bite-sized pieces
    2-3 teaspoons curry paste
    1/2 teaspoon cumin
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    2 chopped fresh tomatoes
    1 14-oz can coconut milk
    1 tart apple, peeled an chopped
    1 cup (or more!) raw or cooked chicken or pork or uncooked fish
    a couple of handfuls of fresh spinach (optional)

What to do:
If you are serving this over rice, start your rice.  I definitely suggest chopping all the vegetables before you begin unless you are a master chopper, because I always forget and then end up caramelizing my onions and burning other vegetables.

In a large skillet over medium-high heat, sauté the onions in the oil for a few minutes until they are soft.  Add the garlic and ginger and cook for another minute.  If you are using raw chicken or pork, add it now and cook until opaque.

Add the pepper and any other vegetables you are using.  Sauté these for a few minutes, until they begin to soften.  Add the curry paste, cumin, salt, tomatoes and coconut milk and bring the mixture to a simmer.  Add the apple and uncooked fish (if you are using it) and cook for about 5 minutes, until the apple is tender-crisp.

Once the sauce has thickened a bit, add any cooked chicken or pork until it heats through and then add the spinach and cook until it wilts.  Serve immediately.

One thought on “Basic Curry

  1. I love this curry because of the bell pepper, ginger and coconut milk, all my favourites. I think it tastes very nice. Your blog has got very many wonderful recipes. I have bookmarked it. I will try by all means to make something from here. Thanks for stopping by and have a fantastic week!!

Leave a Reply

