Barbecued Curry Chicken

currychicken

I seem to have started on a new non-food-related craze.  I was mentioning playing too much Angry Birds and one of my coworkers suggested 4Pics1Word.  Not a good idea!  Now I can’t get anything done!  I’ve had blog ideas ready to go and then I spend all my time on my phone playing.  And dinner was definitely served late last night because I couldn’t tear myself away from my phone.  It’s more addictive than chocolate.

However, I did manage to take enough of a break this weekend to make some curry chicken on the barbecue.  I bought a LARGE package of chicken breast (with 5 breasts) and marinated all of it for a night before barbecuing.  And the results are fantastic.  If you choose, like me, to make double the marinade and double the chicken, I have no doubt that you will manage to find a way to finish it all off.  But if you’re looking for ideas, this leftover chicken is great in curries or diced and mixed with a little mayo in a sandwich.

In the spirit of 4Pics1Word, here’s my own for you to guess*:

currychickenhoney mustartd chicken

__ __ __ __ __ __ __
C E U E I K
C T H N N Q

Curry Chicken from Starting Out

You can saute or bake these in the oven, but I prefer to use the barbecue.  The recipe doubles very easily, too.  You can serve this with anything you fancy, but I like to make a pot of rice and barbecue whatever vegetables are found in my fridge.  This time I did peppers and zucchini.

What you need:
    3-4 chicken breast halves, cut in half
    1/4 cup plain yogurt
    2 cloves of garlic, crushed
    1 Tablespoon curry paste
    1/2 teaspoon cumin
    1/2 teaspoon salt

What to do:
In a small bowl, combine the yogurt, garlic, curry paste, cumin and salt.  Cover each piece of chicken with the marinade (this will get messy!) and place in a ziplock bag or container.  Marinate for at least an hour or overnight.

When you’re ready to cook the chicken, preheat your grill and then grill the chicken until it is no longer pink and the juices run clear.

*The word is CHICKEN.

One thought on “Barbecued Curry Chicken

Leave a Reply

