Salsa Burgers

salsaburger

Warm weather is officially here!  Every year I hesitate to say it, because in Ottawa, it can snow in April (snow day anyone?), and even later.  But, it’s been above 20C for quite a few days and I am loving it.  All my plans for soups, stews and casseroles have flown out the window and I’m just barbecuing as much as possible.

I love this recipe for burgers.  It is really simple – it uses just three ingredients and takes very little time to put together.  You can make them ahead and freeze them (I suggest in a single layer on a cookie sheet lined with waxed paper, and then transferred to a freezer bag, to keep them from sticking together).  And they are always moist.  Well, unless you forget about them on the barbecue and seriously over-cook them.  But I trust you will not do that!

The secret to getting the burgers to stay together (without egg) is to REALLY mix them.  After I’ve mixed everything together, I take my singe burger amounts out and knead them in my hands for a bit.  Trust me, it keeps them from falling apart in the barbecue.

rawburgers

Salsa Burgers

makes around 6

What you need:
    1 lb ground beef
    1/2 cup oats
    1/3 cup salsa
    buns and burger toppings / condiments

What to do:
In a large bowl, combine the ground beef, oats and salsa.  Divide up mixture evenly into six balls (or use a measuring cup – I usually make mine 1/3 cup or 1/2 cup each).  Knead each ball a bit more and then shape into a round patty.

Preheat your grill and brush the rack with a little oil.  Cook the burgers for about 6minutes a side.  Baste with barbecue sauce and top with cheese near the end if you want extra flavour.

2 thoughts on “Salsa Burgers

Leave a Reply

