Savarin Challenge

image(7)

Since starting my blog, I found out about a website called The Daring Kitchen.  Each month, they post a secret challenge, only available to members (of which I am now one!).  We all make the challenge and then post the results on our websites on the same day.  For the bakers, that day is the 27th of the month.  So here are the results of my first challenge!

Before starting this, I had never heard of a savarin.  I had absolutely no idea what it was.  But, being a daring baker, I rose to the challenge anyway, despite the INCREDIBLY long directions.  You start by making the bread dough (which really put my mixer to work) and then let it rise for 3 hours).  Then, you knead the dough a bit and let it sit for 15 minutes.  Then you shape the dough, put it in the baking pan and let it rise for another hour (and not the 2 hours I let mine rise for!).  Then you bake it for 40 minutes.  After that, you soak it in about 4 cups of syrup until it is soggy.  It’s best to leave it overnight before serving.  Then you make a custard to fill the hole and cover the whole thing with fruit.

image(5)image(4)

Here is what I discovered: a savarin is a light bread, soaked in a sweet syrup, filled with custard and covered in fruit.  It’s really impressive, incredibly beautiful and a TON of work.  My family was sitting in the living room for quite a while, waiting while I put on the finishing touches and took some pictures.  However, I received all stunning reviews.  The peach syrup was so delicious.  The lemon custard paired with it nicely.  And the strawberries and Cara Cara oranges added an amazing flavour in the end.

Would I make it again?  Probably not.  But it was a fun challenge to try.  And I’m really looking forward to next month’s challenge.

image(6)

If you want to try it, you can find the directions here.  It’s too much work to rewrite them myself!

Oh, and this picture shows you why you don’t let it rise a second time past the 1 hour mark.  It was insanely huge once baked!  Whoops!

8 thoughts on “Savarin Challenge

Leave a Reply

